Scores / Schedule

Former Mammoth Defenseman Rich Catton Inducted to Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame

The Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame recently announced its 2022 Hall of Fame Class, which included former Colorado Mammoth defenseman Rich Catton. The 2006 NLL Champion and his five classmates were officially inducted and celebrated Saturday Nov. 12 at the Anvil Centre in New Westminster, B.C., which happens to the birthplace of Catton as well.

“On behalf of the entire Colorado Mammoth organization, we congratulate Rich and his family for being inducted into the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame,” Mammoth General Manager Brad Self shared. “Truly, a deserved honor for a champion, on and off the field.”

Having logged four seasons with the New Westminster Salmonbellies’ Jr. A initially, Catton continued to find success when transitioning into Sr. ball action, logging time with New Westminster Salmonbellies, Coquitlam Adanacs, Vancouver Burrards and eventually Victoria Shamrocks, where he helped capture the Mann Cup in 2005.

Adding to his trophy collection, the reliable defenseman earned a gold medal with Team Canada during the 2003 World Indoor Championships and played a key role in helping the Mammoth earn its first NLL Championship in 2006.

Recording 11 seasons in the NLL, including time with the Buffalo Bandits (2000-2001), Vancouver Ravens (2002-2004) and Calgary Roughnecks (2005) before spending the last five seasons of his NLL Career in Colorado. In 77 games with the Mammoth, Catton recorded 29 points (3g, 26a), 284 loose balls and 171 penalty minutes throughout five seasons of play, adding to his NLL career figures of 69 points (11g, 58a), 575 loose balls and 336 penalty minutes. In 155 regular season appearances. The defenseman added four points (1g, 3a), 47 loose balls and eight penalty minutes in nine career postseason games played.

Inducted alongside Catton are nine other lacrosse greats, having impacted the game as players, builders and officials, respectively, including: Blane Harrison, Trish Nicholson, Josh Sanderson, Troyhann Santos, Kaleb Toth, Rey Comeault, Doug Luey, Joanne Stanga and Bill Fox.

Colorado Mammoth Pro Lacrosse Team