Scores / Schedule

Colorado Mammoth Announce 2023-24 Team Awards

DENVER – The Colorado Mammoth today announced the squad’s Team Awards from its 2023-24 National Lacrosse League (NLL) season. With the organization beginning the annual tradition during its 2014-15 campaign, these individual awards recognize players and personnel for their standout efforts, be it game-changing campaigns or team-forging leadership.

The John Grant Jr. Award, which honors the team’s top-performing offensive player, was first introduced during the 2018-19 season.

While the Jay Jalbert Award is officially voted on by players of the squad, the other five honors have been voted in via the team’s coaching staff and front office personnel. Award-winners for the 2023-24 NLL campaign include:

2024 Jay Jalbert Award Recipient (Teammate of the Year): Tyler Carlson 

While the veteran netminder and well-decorated World Champion played more of a role than usual on the field this season, as regular starter Dillon Ward dealt with some bumps and bruises both early and late in the campaign, his role and place in the locker room remains unchanged. Whether it’s a smile, fist-bump, hug, or some sort of goofy, camaraderie-driven exchange, “TC” as the boys call him always brings the energy and vibes. For gameday, for team trips and beyond. Never afraid to soak a few extra shots at practice and shootaround, he spends most of his practice time in net for the O-team, which is NOT an easy task to endure with the likes of Eli McLaughlin, Connor Kelly and folks looking to fill the net. He’s not the oldest on the team, but as a father and caring member of the lacrosse community, he’s been around long enough to be teased as Team Dad when Hopey isn’t hurrying everyone to get in the van! Blessed with his presence and energy for several seasons now, he plays an important part in the organization, and deservedly earned his Jay Jalbert Award!

Past Winners Include: (2015) Tyler Codron, (2016) Dan Coates, (2017) Robert Hope, (2018) Robert Hope, (2019) Robert Hope & Dan Coates, (2020) Tyler Carlson, (2022) Scott Carnegie, (2023) Robert Hope

2024 Dave Stilley Award Recipient (Top Defenseman): Jordan Gilles

Gilles has never been afraid to push the pace and get himself involved in an old fashioned transition effort. Originally drafted by Colorado during the 2015 NLL Entry Draft, he’s one of the many faces who has been with Colorado as part of its veteran core for quite some time now. And while this season represents the first time he’s been selected as the team’s Top Defenseman, it’s far from the first campaign in which he’s played a huge role. Chipping in a career-high 13 points (4g, 9a) throughout 17 regular season appearances this year, “Gill Man” was once again a menace at both ends of the floor. Honored specifically for his toughness, physical approach and relentless effort to constantly improve not only his skillset, but his conditioning and reliability as a defender, Jordan Gilles has officially been nominated as this season’s Dave Stilley Award winner.

Past Winners Include: (2015) Dan Coates, (2016) Robert Hope & Dan Coates, (2017) Greg Downing, (2018) Robert Hope, (2019) Robert Hope, (2020) Robert Hope, (2022) John Lintz, (2023) Warren Jeffrey

John Grant Jr. Award (Top Offenseman): Eli McLaughlin

Bringing matching 83-point efforts from his past two seasons into the 2023-24 campaign, we’ve known Eli McLaughlin can shoot the rock as well as he can dish it. And with fellow all-pro-caliber scorer in Ryan Lee missing the entire campaign with a lower-body injury, it would be fair to say No. 51 put the team on his back to a certain extent. Racking up a personal-best and team-high 93 points, McLaughlin led Colorado in each of the big three scoring categories, including points, goals (43) and assists (50) as he furthered his legacy in burgundy and black. Chipping in a quality 74 loose balls (the most amongst all forwards and fifth-most on the entire team), McLaughlin collected many offensive rebounds throughout the season in attempting to give his team another opportunity to score on the regular. Coming up just short of his previous career-high of nine CTOs, Liger also managed seven caused turnovers, the second-highest total of his NLL playing days, as he remains a score-friendly asset in all phases of the game. Nearly 30 points (29) ahead of the team’s next-best finisher this season (Connor Kelly: 64 points), McLaughlin receives his third career John Grant Jr. Award.

Past Winners Include: (2019) Eli McLaughlin, (2020) Ryan Lee, (2022) Ryan Lee, (2023) Eli McLaughlin

Jamie Hanford Award (Most Inspirational): Tim Edwards

If you’ve been staying tuned to throughout the beginning of the offseason, you’ll know that Tim Edwards became the franchise’s all-time faceoff win leader at the end of the 2023-24 campaign. Which, when you consider that total is now 1,314 overall, that means “Timmy Secrets” has been on his GRIND for each of his six seasons sparring at the dot for Colorado. Facing off against, literally, the best draw men in the game, Edwards has elevated his status to be amongst said company, regularly securing an advantage in the circle for the Mammoth while continuing to serve as a defenseman in certain sets. He doesn’t like coming off the field because he always has more to contribute. And when you consider the fact that he notched a career-high four goals amongst his 10 points (4g, 6a: just one point short of tying his NLL season-best record), maybe we should be giving him a few more looks in transition! Inspiring on the field and constantly discussing ways for himself, his defensive unit and the entire squad to develop week in and out, it’s his kind personality, ability to connect with the youngsters and overall calming vibes that made him an easy choice for this season’s Jamie Hanford Award (the very man he passed in the franchise record books in becoming the organization’s all-time faceoff wins leader!)

Past Winners Include: (2015) Jeremy Noble, (2016) John Grant Jr., (2017) Cameron Holding, (2018) Joey Cupido, (2019) Steve Fryer, (2020) Chris Wardle, (2022) Tim Edwards, (2023) Ryan Lee

RELATED: Looking Back: Tim Edwards Becomes Franchise’s All-Time Faceoff Wins Leader

Gary Gait Award (Move Valuable Player): Eli McLaughlin

Sure, McLaughlin posted career-best figures as the team’s spark plug and overall main scoring source. But it was the WHEN and HOW he scored, typically in clutch fashion, that makes him this year’s MVP. Regularly igniting the LOUD HOUSE with an epic finish before celebrating with his favorite fans, the man just knows how to put on a show. From dunks and diving bids to long-range lasers and top-tier finishes of the sort, he was never afraid to take a few extra hits on his way to the crease. Always embracing some extra reps at the end of practice, he’s stinging corners for a reason: He’s been putting the work in! “Liger” was unstoppable again this season, and with it marking his second season as an alternate captain, he continues to give his all for the franchise. Representing the second time our B.C. boy has received the honors, we’re happy to announce Eli McLaughlin has been named this season’s Gary Gait Award recipient!

Past Winners Include: (2015) Adam Jones, (2016) Callum Crawford, (2017) Dillon Ward, (2018) Dillon Ward, (2019) Eli McLaughlin, (2020) Dillon Ward, (2022) Ryan Lee & Dillon Ward, (2023) Dillon Ward

Colorado Mammoth Pro Lacrosse Team